Recipe: Fish Tacos

Fish Tacos
Ingredients
makes 8 servings

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 cup beer

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 lime, juiced

1 jalapeno pepper, minced

1 teaspoon minced capers

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon dried dill weed

1 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper

1 quart oil for frying

1 pound cod fillets, cut into 2 to 3 ounce portions

1 (12 ounce) package corn tortillas

Directions

  1. To make beer batter: In a large bowl, combine flour, cornstarch, baking powder, and salt. Blend egg and beer, then quickly stir into the flour mixture (don’t worry about a few lumps).
  2. To make white sauce: In a medium bowl, mix together yogurt and mayonnaise. Gradually stir in fresh lime juice until consistency is slightly runny. Season with jalapeno, capers, oregano, cumin, dill, and cayenne.
  3. Heat oil in deep-fryer to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  4. Dust fish pieces lightly with flour. Dip into beer batter, and fry until crisp and golden brown. Drain on paper towels. Lightly fry tortillas; not too crisp. To serve, place fried fish in a tortilla, and top with shredded cabbage, and white sauce.

Recipe: Savory Apple Strata

Savory Apple Strata
Makes 8 servings
Bake 375 degrees for 40 minutes

8 ounces turkey kielbasa 1/2 pkg
cut into half moons
2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and chopped
1 medium onion chopped
6 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
2 tbls. honey mustard
1/3 tsp. dried sage
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1 loaf Italian bread cut into 1 inch cubes
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Directions
Coat a 13 x 9 inch baking pan with nonstick cooking spray.
In a 10 inch nonstick skillet, saute kielbasa, apples, and onion for 5 minutes over medium heat.
If sticking to skillet add 1 tablespoon water. Cool slightly.

In medium size bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, honey mustard, sage, and pepper. Set aside.
Place bread cubes in a large bowl. Gently stir in kielbasa mixture and 1/2 cup of the shredded cheese. Spoon into prepared baking dish, and then pour egg mixture evenly over it.
Compress lightly with hands until all ingredients are moistened. Sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup shredded cheese.

Cover with foil and bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. Uncover and bake an additional 20 minutes. Cool slightly before serving.

March Beauty Product Spotlight: Garnier Moisture Rescue Gel Cream

Garnier-Moisture-Rescue
Each month I will be sharing a product that I had added to my beauty regiment.
It is not easy to become a product spotlighted on my blog.
I take all recommendations to my readers very seriously.
Every product I review, will be given my honest opinions.

We live right outside Austin Texas and our summers are harsh with days topping 100 degrees.
Our winters are mild but very windy, blowing around dust, and anything else in the air.
The main problem with my skin is it is very hard to find a good moisturizer that actually works.
Garnier Moisture Rescue Refreshing Gel Cream gets my five star *****rating.
I tried a small sample of this wonderful cream last night and instantly felt the difference on my face and arms.
My dry skin was soothed, and softened as promised by Garnier.

Garnier Moisture Rescue Refreshing Gel Cream guarantees 24 hours of oil free hydration. I am here to share with you that is an absolutely true statement.
My most troubled dry skin areas are on my arms, and they are soft and silky today.
I used only a dime size application last night and I am hooked.

Credit:  All opinions are my own, and I am not associated with Garnier in any way.