May Is Asthma Awareness Month

My asthma medications

My asthma medications

May is asthma awareness month and I wanted to share my personal journey. At age 15 years one beautiful day in May I found myself gasping for air to breathe. My mother took me to the local small town hospital. They treated me for allergies and admitted me. Several more years and  stays in the hospital with my mystery illness.

Finally I was diagnosed with asthma and felt the quality of my life change for the better. Now each May I pause to thank the doctors who taught me how to use an inhaler, and nebulizer.

My heart goes out to asthmatic children who struggle living with this disease. We don’t know when an asthma attack will hit. Part of my life consists of never leaving home without an inhaler.

Credit: Resources provided by http://www.asthmacommunitynetwork.org.

Find and Share Resources

Visit the Resource Bank to find asthma action plans, evidence-based studies, outreach materials and other resources to help your program. Share educational material with your community during AAM.

Check out these Top 3 Resources:

  1. The Breathe Easies
    EPA Asthma Team
  2. Putting Together the Pieces to Manage Childhood Asthma
    Merck Childhood Asthma Network, Inc.
  3. Help Your Child Gain Control Over Asthma
    EPA Asthma Team
Leave a Reply

